Meet the Board

The Board of Directors meets monthly and consists of a balance of community members and Austin Public Schools Staff. If you have any interest in joining the board or volunteering for events, please reach out to any of the board members listed.

Carolyn Dube

President, Community Member

Carolyn is an Austin native, graduating from AHS in 1997. She works as an Instructional Architect for Capella University. She and her husband, Todd, have 3 children – Alex, Michael, and Lauren. She enjoys being involved with the foundation because she loves to see the enrichment it provides for Austin’s classrooms.

Ashley Denisen

Vice President, Teacher

Ashley is a teacher at Woodson Kindergarten Center. She also serves as the lead administrator for Austin’s elementary summer school programming.

Tom Klapperich

Treasurer, Community Member

Tom was born and raised in Austin. He graduated from Mankato State University and worked in Rochester for 2 years before returning to Austin. He is currently the Market President for Home Federal Savings Bank. Tom has 4 daughters, 2 granddaughters, and 1 grandson. Two daughters are graduates of Austin High, one is in 10th grade and the last is in preschool. He enjoys being on the foundation board, seeing all the benefits the foundation does for the local schools.

Derik Gustafson

Secretary, School Administrator

Derik is the Principal at Southgate Elementary. He is also the owner/operator of Gus Bus Cycle and Small Engines.

Kathy Ewing

Director, Teacher

Kathy Ewing is an EL teacher at Austin High School. She is originally from Minneapolis but has lived here in Austin for the past 18 years. She was a substitute teacher in the district for 5 years and for the last two has been full time at the high school. She has four children, three of whom have graduated from Austin High and one is at Ellis.

Lori Marco

Director, Community Member

Lori grew up on a farm near Brewster, Minnesota. She received her B.A., with High Distinction in Biology from the University of Minnesota – Morris. She earned her J.D., Magna Cum Laude, from the University of Minnesota Law School. She is currently senior vice-president of external affairs and general counsel at Hormel Foods Corporation. Lori has three sons,  Tyler, Jacob and Hadyn. Tyler is attending Carleton College. Jacob and Hadyn are attending Ellis and IJ, respectively.

Cece Kroc

Director, School Board Representative

Cece Kroc is a retired Austin Public Schools teacher and member of the school board. She serves on the APEF board as a school board representative. She is a member of the class of 1977 and have been married for 40+ years to fellow 1977 grad Joe Kroc. They have three children: Lindsey and husband Jason Campbell (Class of 1999), Erin (Class of 2000), and Joe and wife Sarah Ewing (Class of 2004 and 2009). We’ve also been blessed with five beautiful and rambunctious grandsons! Cece was employed for 24 years with the Austin Public Schools as a teacher and then instructional coach. She is proud of the education that her family has enjoyed here the opportunity to support the students of the Austin Public Schools.

Lindsay Bires

Director, Community Member

Jeni Lindberg

Director, Community Member, Alumni Association

Jeni graduated from Austin High School in 1973. She serves as chair of the AHS Alumni & Friends Association. She also chairs the Association’s Distinguished Alumni celebration that is held in conjunction with Homecoming. In 2002 when her son graduated, there were 4 living generations of Austin High graduates in her family. Jeni and her husband Brad have two grown sons.

Amy Mayers

Director, AHS Career Center Representative

Amy serves Austin Public Schools as the Career Center Representative. For the APE Foundation, she manages the scholarship application process for graduating seniors.

Jennifer Boysen

Executive Director

Jennifer is originally from St. Paul, MN. She met her husband, Bryan (an Austin native and AHS Class of 1997 Grad), in Winona and made Austin her home in 2003. Together they have three children, all of whom are currently Austin Packers.

Jennifer is excited to serve as Executive Director by bringing her organizational skills and her appreciation for education and educators to the foundation. She looks forward to working with the APEF board to build upon the current success of the organization by expanding the opportunities for enhancing education at Austin Public Schools.

%d bloggers like this: